Special Sessions

Ice in the Atmosphere

Chairs: Thomas B. Kristensen (Thomas.bjerring_kristensen@nuclear.lu.se), Romy Ullrich (romy.foesig@kit.edu), Erik S. Thomson (erik.thomson@chem.gu.se)

Ice particles in the atmosphere influence cloud dynamics and optical properties, formation of precipitation and climate. However, large uncertainties are associated with these effects and their potential feedbacks. This session aims to cover a wide variety of subjects related to ice in the atmosphere, in order to facilitate exchange of knowledge between disciplines. We welcome experimental, theoretical and modeling studies of ice nucleating particles as well as cirrus and mixed-phase clouds in the field and laboratory settings. Studies of ice nucleating particles, ice crystal properties, ice residual particles and ice cloud formation, microphysics, life cycle and radiative properties are most welcome.

Low-cost PM sensors

Chairs: Christof Asbach (asbach@iuta.de), David Green (david.c.green@kcl.ac.uk), Andreas Held (andreas.held@uni-bayreuth.de)

Low-cost sensors for particulate matter have gained increased popularity over the last few years. While their accuracy may not be comparable to that of established aerosol measurement techniques, they offer a large variety of new possibilities. Among others, these include citizen science projects on air quality, surveillance of workplace and indoor exposure concentrations or the use of these sensors to control HVAC systems.

The aim of the special session is to provide an overview on both the characterization of the sensors as well as their application in different fields.

Aerosols in Earth System Models

Chairs: Ulas Im (ulas@envs.au.dk), Risto Makkonen (risto.makkonen@helsinki.fi), Annica Ekman, (annica@misu.su.se)

Description: Earth System models (ESMs) are global climate models, explicitly representing biogeochemical processes that interact with the physical climate and so alter its response to climate forcing from natural and anthropogenic emissions of greenhouse gases and aerosols. Aerosols reflect incoming solar radiation (a direct cooling effect) and alter cloud properties (an indirect cooling effect), as well as absorbing radiation (e.g. black carbon), contributing to the warming of the atmosphere. Therefore they are key players in chemistry-climate feedbacks. ESMs provide valuable insight into climate variability and change, and the role of human activities and possible mitigation actions on future climate change.

Is PM in low and middle income countries special?

Chairs: Francis Pope (F.Pope@bham.ac.uk), Johan Boman (johan.boman@chem.gu.se), Örjan Gustavsson (Orjan.Gustafsson@aces.su.se)

Worldwide it is recognized that air pollution, especially particulate matter, is causing alarming degradation of the human health and to the environment. This is especially true in low and middle income countries (LMIC) where emissions are high and societal focus is easily turned to more day to day concerns like employment and getting food for the family. But air quality is considered one of the most important obstacles impeding the development of a livable and productive municipality. Concerted efforts are now urgently required to limit exposure to pollutants by the local and national authorities. How can aerosol science contribute to a positive development? What is the current status of knowledge and what’s needed for the future? Can good air quality act as a driver of sustainability, build local capacity and help achieve the Sustainable Development Goals? Where can aerosol science help? Can low cost measurements provide reliable data? How does PM composition and emissions in LMICs differ to more well studied regions? Does aerosol chemistry differ in LMICs due to different PM and gas phase composition? Welcome to discuss these and other related question in this special session.

Pulmonary Delivery of Aerosolized Medicines – Aerosols in the Pre-clinical and Clinical Setting

Chairs: Helena Thörn Helena.Thorn@astrazeneca.com and Ulrika Tehler Ulrika.Tehler@astrazeneca.com

This session aims to address the topic of pulmonary delivery to animals and humans. Aerosol characterization and precise drug delivery for pre-clinical and clinical investigations is needed throughout the development of an inhaled medicine. Some of the challenges of conducting in vivo inhalation studies is the generation of a well-defined and reproducible aerosol that delivers an ideal size distribution and composition of the aerosol to the lungs. In addition, the translation from the pre-clinical to the clinical phase is dependent on robust in vivo data and predictive in silico models. The key challenge is to understand, deliver and control, as well as model, the aerosol facilitating the generation of reliable data throughout the various phases of the drug development process.